Find out where and how to obtain or renew a driver's license or identification card. Also see information for new residents.
The Jefferson County Clerk’s office is contracted with the State of Tennessee Department of Safety to renew and replace Tennessee State Driver’s Licenses and Identification Cards. As an express location we are unable to do any driver’s testing, drivers license transfers from other states(new residents or returning residents), renew any Tennessee Commercial Driver’s License, reinstate driver’s license, issue new identification cards, concealed carry permits or print a driving record. Also as a part of our contract we are required to charge an additional $4.00 processing fee on all transactions. For online services such as renewals and reinstatements see Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security Online Applications.
The hours of operation are:
Monday – Friday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Saturday: 8 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
Residents wishing to renew their driver’s license or identification cards must submit their renewal notice and their current license or ID. You will be required to complete an application provided by the state in the event you did not receive a notice from the state to renew. An additional $4.00 processing fee is charged on all transactions due to changes in our state contract.
If your driver’s license is lost or stolen you may apply for and receive a duplicate license in the Jefferson County Clerk’s office. You will need to bring a form of identification when applying for the duplicate for example a birth certificate, social security card, or work/school ID card. Also, if you are a Tennessee resident who has a change residency, the clerk’s office can change the address on your driver’s license. State law requires that upon a change of residency you must have the address changed on your license within ten days. An additional $4.00 processing fee is charged on all transactions due to changes in our state contract.
Our office can only renew and replace identification cards due to our new state contract. Anyone wishing to apply for an identification card for the first time or changing from a drivers license to an identification card must go to a main examining station.
Under our new contract we can no longer process new residents' application for drivers license or returning residents applications. You must now go to a main examining station to process your applications.
Photo Driver License to Registerd Voters
Starting in 2012 voters will have to show a state or federal issued photo ID to cast a ballot at the voting polls in Tennessee. The Jefferson County Clerks Office has partnered with the the Department of Safety and Homeland Security to make more outlets available for registered voters to get a photo drivers licenses for voting purposes. To see the official October 12, 2011 press release and more information, click "here".
Each applicant wishing to receive the photo at no charge is required to complete an "Affidavit for Voter Photo Identification License". Click "here" for this affidavit.